Random “news”

I haven’t felt too great the last few days. And today I am really dizzy and feeling bloated and like I have been gaining weight. But the dizziness worried me. So I did something I have never done before. I went on WebMD. I plugged in my symptoms. And you want to know what the guess was?

PMS.

And then I looked at my calendar and was like, “DOH.”

Because it starts tomorrow.

(fun fun)

In other news, Red got out of bed the other night, extremely upset. It started earlier in the evening when J and I took them to the piano bar for dinner. One of the owners is in her 80’s but a whippersnapper and came over to chat with us. Even though she is “all there”, she is quite wrinkley and shuffles around alot.

Red got really quiet the rest of the meal and then perked up when J started playing piano. We stayed just an hour and when J asked the girls for requests, they asked for Mommy to sing. Especially Cyndi Lauper songs. (yes. I really sing some of them)

But then, at bedtime, Red was really upset but wouldn’t talk to me.

Finally, she came downstairs, obviously having been bawling her eyes out, and said, “Mommy, there is something I really want to talk to you about. There’s something I want to tell you, but  I don’t know how to tell you.”

She finally spit it out.

“Old people really freak me out,” she said.

And then she started crying.

I suspect she is a little worried about the death thing, but when I asked her why, she said, “because they are just so DIFFERENT!”

We’d seen a few old folks that J and I knew. And you know what calmed her down?

I gave them personalities.

I told her what their names were, and who they were and how J and I know them, and what they used to do.

I also told her that old people were really really smart, because they have lived so long, they know lots of stuff.

It amazes me that the simplicity of that, got her calmed down, changed her mind that they weren’t aliens.

And at tennis camp this week, the girls are playing lots of tennis. After the first day, Red came home blurting out “WE PLAYED TOO MUCH TENNIS!” My response “well, it IS tennis camp, you know.” She wasn’t terribly enthused by that response. The following days, she enjoyed a bit more once she got into the groove.

With Blue, I got into a little Mommy trouble. I packed underwear for her to change into after she swam at camp. Apparently, the first day, a girl in her group peeked through the crack in the door of her changing stall and announced to the entire bathroom of girls, that Blue was wearing a Dora-the-Explorer-Diaper.  In fact, it was Dora, but it was underwear. Blue heard the girls all laughing.

But apparently, she came out of the stall and had pretended not to care and just glared at the mean girl.

And we refer to her as that, now.

Mean Girl.

It kind of rips my heart out, but I also love that Blue is stone-faced about it and wrinkles her nose and says she’s just gonna stay away from Mean Girl.

12 responses to this post.

  1. I think she handled it beautifully- Blue…and I knew I loved your girls- we can play tennis ANYTIME! NO TENNIS IS TOO MUCH TENNIS! 🙂

    Reply

  2. All the other guys at the gym at work out at give me grief about my Dora underwear also. Tell Blue she isn’t alone.

    Reply

  3. Sounds like you’re doing an amazing job with those girls – good for Blue! 😀

    Reply

  4. Good for Blue. Way not to let the bully see her sweat.

    Reply

  5. Mean Girl’s just jealous because all she’s got are grungy granny pants.

    Reply

  6. I had to have the ‘some kids are just plain mean’ conversation with my son this summer regarding camp too. Sort of breaks your heart to no longer be able to choose their friends, and ensure they are surrounded by only kindness and respect. All we can do is hope they keep their heads up and stone faces on like Blue did!

    Reply

  7. You GO, Blue. Don’t take shit from ANYONE.

    The Bean had a Mean Girl in her kindergarten class… they weren’t in 1st together, but I’ve just learned they have the same teacher for 2nd. Hopefully our MG has gotten past it. I think there’s one in every class, though. Little bitches.

    Reply

  8. Wow. I love how Blue took that. It takes a certain personality type to be able to take that and not really care.

    And yes, I can completely understand how Red would be a little freaked out by things she doesn’t understand until Mommy explains them better. That was a great example of Mommy knowing exactly what to do.

    Ah… PMS. Gotta love it, right?

    Reply

  9. Wow – I’m surprised PG wasn’t what was returned from your symptoms list…glad it just said PMS – ha. And way to go to you and the girls – Red having the trust to chat with you and Blue having the backbone to glare at Mean Girl. My hat’s off to all of you!

    Reply

  10. That’s what I thought as well. Your symptoms sound very suspicious. But I’m sure you and J are “careful.”

    Tennis camp sounds like fun. I want to go…

    Reply

  11. Good way to handle the mean girl. Cheers for mom.

    Reply

  12. Another secret about old people? They’re mostly just old on the outside. I asked my grandmother once how it felt to turn 80. She said she couldn’t really wrap her head around it because her brain was still 16 and she was shocked by that woman in the mirror every morning. Her wrinkly outside didn’t match the happy, carefree girl that lived inside. I was actually glad to know that. She died four years after that conversation. I think she probably matches up now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

