My period and the J boxes

Yes, that’s what I’m gonna talk about.

Two girls, one woman and a man in a house with one bathroom has turned out fairly well.

I wonder what will happen when we are all pms-ing at the same time. He still has a few years to get used to the idea, but now, whenever I get upset or ahem, have a little cry…he looks lovingly at me and says, “Babe, when does your period come around, eh?”

And usually, it’s coming up in a few days, he is dead on.

It’s nice to blame seemingly overly dramatic emotions on something we can’t control, like our period.

I mean, there is validity to all our feelings, but when that time of the month comes, it seems to not all make sense and all I can do it cry and plaster myself to him.

He doesn’t seem to mind, but it’s a little hard for him to pee when I have my arms wrapped around him from behind and I’m sobbing “I love you!”, while overlooking the toilet. (okay, it’s not that bad and still, he says it’s endearing and not annoying)

I usually get over in in about 24 hours.

J fixed the lock on the bathroom door so that it actually locks now, but I had to enforce the rule that the girls don’t lock themselves in when they are taking a shower or bath. If they slipped and  fell, I would be scrounging for a thin wire to unlock, the door from my side and wasting precious time.

J uses it, even though everyone knows that if the door is closed, someone is in there, though that doesn’t exactly pertain to me, when I am in there.

The girls just sauntered on in.

Until now, when I started locking the door.

Woot!

When J returned home from the islands and Europe in the Spring, he brought gifts of foreign money to the girls. Foreign money and shells and somewhere in the mix, they ended up with a multitude of shiny rocks and guitar pics.

It wasn’t until recently that we realized the girls kept everything he ever gave them, including reindeer refridgerator magnets, in a special box in their rooms.

They refuse to mix their J shells with their New England shells.

They call them their “J Box”” and unfortunately they are starting to overflow because every so often, he has opened a box of miscellaneous items and gives them things like the felt from the inside of an old piano or a clear bottle that’s supposed to hold lotion for traveling, or, gasp, a stick from the Grand Canyon.

Seriously.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Kids love little do-dads like that for some reason. My girls save pretty much everything, too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. My kids each made a “toy box” at a bookstore craft project. Nothing but stickers and such. They put all their little things in them, too

    Reply

  3. If I ask my wife when her period is coming around, and she hits me in the head, I know it is about time.

    Reply

  4. can’t say I miss all that pmsing, now I just get hot and not in a good way LOL

    Reply

  5. It’s gotten so that at my house the girls (wife and daughters) all warn me ahead of time when that time of the month (now called T.O.M.) is upon us. Gives me time to find a safe place to hide…

    Reply

  6. I love that they collect him. How freakin’ cute is that?!

    And it sounds like things are moving along quite swimmingly! 🙂

    Reply

  7. My husband’s best friend used to keep up with my cycle better than he did (my moods dictated to him). Sad, huh?

    Maybe one of J’s next gifts to the girls could be a big hat box to keep all of the stuff in. If you have a Tuesday Morning store up there, they are always good for cute hat-type boxes. It certainly seems that they love him as much as you do – how wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

