Our friend Jack

r9nWsQPipq5jfxoxITJs7IrJo1_400

At noon the other day, J, who has spent times in his life eating as a vegetarian at some points, vegan at others, and a raw food diet another, came to me, saying he was hungry.

It was a day where we were still recuperating from a night of too much Jack Daniels.

You see, the night before was a bash at the piano bar and for some reason, this one guy sitting at the piano next to J, kept buying him whiskey.  Jack Daniels is J’s choice of drink and the regulars know he drinks it on occasion and the bartenders know to send it over when someone says “I want to buy the piano player a drink!”

The drinks keep on appearing, sometimes two at a time.

Now, since knowing J, I have grown accustomed to a little Jack now and again. I sleep really well, the sex is awesome before I pass out and I don’t have a hangover in the morning unless I had a beer beforehand.

Unfortunately, where he plays, a shot of Jack is $9.50, so I don’t usually partake unless someone else hands me one.

Like this one particular night, I treated myself to two beers and then suddenly, the plethora of whisky started to come and I just couldn’t help myself.

I wasn’t thinking.

I drank a few or five.

I know. It’s totally unlike me. (this was in June and I haven’t done it since, I promise!)

On nights where he has seven lined up in front of him at the piano, he will whirl around in his seat and smuggle me one, or three.

By the end of the night, we’d each consumed about eight shots of Jack and the guy buying them for us likely left with a big credit card bill, because the piano bar charges $9.50 for a shot of Jack. (yeah, I know, crazy…the place down the road charges $5.00)

So, the following night, after a day of sleeping in, relaxing, watching movies (it was raining outside) and trying to stomach some sort of meals throughout the day, it was 9pm and J came to me, looking hungry. “You want me to make you some toast?” I asked.

He shook his head sheepishly.

I want something else.

“cheese toast?”

He shook his head.

“Soup?”

He shook his head and said something in a muffled voice.

“What?”

“Cocoa Puffs. I want Cocoa Krispies.”

Since I think that chocolate cereal is the worst thing in the world ever invented, food-wise…I definitely didn’t have it in the house.

Neither of us were about to go out to buy it at the market due to “our friend Jack”.

After opening the cupboards, I pulled out the Rice Krispies and mixing up chocolate milk made from the gourmet Ghirardelli shaved chocolate in my baking cupboard.

Yes.

I did.

I made my man some homemade gourmet  Cocoa Krispies.

10 responses to this post.

  1. oh you are one good woman! there is NO WAY IN HELL I would have wasted my Ghirardelli chocolate on cereal. well- unless it was milk chocolate. But step away from my dark stuff. It’s mine, mine, mine. My stomach churns just thinking about your friend Jack. He ain’t no friend of mine!

    Reply

  2. Mmmmm….I’m coming to your house next time I’m hung over!

    Reply

  3. I only eat my cereal with chocolate milk- light not too strong- mostly crispix or K….how are you girl? ok now that my hectiness is over we can plan something- SERIOUSLY!

    Reply

  4. Chocolate cereal is one of my staples. Seriously. Um, okay…that looks sad when I read it.

    I think drinking Jack when other people buy it is the best way to drink it 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love it when the healthy-eaters fall off the wagon. Cocoa Krispies is a great way to fall!

    Reply

  6. Now THAT is love. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Your man’s gotta love you after that. I would totally do that, too.

    Reply

  8. I think a shot of Jack is around 3 or 4 dollars here in Iowa.

    I can’t drink hard liquor for several reasons, but beer and wine work just fine.

    Reply

  9. Nothing screams love like homemade chocolate cereal. Gotta curse the JD shots. It’s gets harder to recover the older you get….

    Reply

  10. A hack Piano player…. I can enjoy Jack Daniels as I play. I prefer the Gentleman Jack version. A lot smoother and less hurting…. Like a piano – we need tuning too!

    You can waste all that horrible brown crap you want! I don’t like chocolate. I have done similar with sherbets. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

