A few days into vacation…

We’ve been up north, we’ve drunk alot of beer, J’s played a few extra gigs, including an open stage where he played with some amazing musicians and some random dude with an amazing voice. (gotta love the music world)

We went to a lobster place up north yesterday for a birthday party.

J got all annoyed by the attitude the waitstaff had, as if it was a nuisance that we were giving them business. It’s strange to see people in a profession that doesn’t seem to fit their personalities.

My lobster was SO good.

So was the wine.

The girls have been gone since last Friday and come home on Monday. I miss them. And I resent their dad for not answering the phone when I call or call me back when I try and talk to the girls. I’ll probably do it once or twice next week once they are home with me, just to spite him.

I think he’s selfish.

Sleeping naked with J every night has been great, seeing that with the girls in the house, I make sure I have a shirt and shorts on.

I don’t need them to wonder why on earth I would be stark naked in bed with J.

I hope to not have that conversation with them until they are eighteen. (I realize it will be earlier, but a mama can dream, right?)

Today I am cleaning my house since it’s been since June that I’ve actually done anything remotely close to a thorough cleaning.

I hope to vacuum out my car too, since I haven’t done that since sometime in March, I think.

We still have a boil order in our town, which sucks. The schools are prepared to open on Tuesday as planned and have drinking water and hand sanitizer and bagged lunches for the kids since the water is not going to be running in the school, in fear of dangering the kids.

Many businesses in our town have lost hundreds of thousands of dollars already in the week long ban, mostly restaurants and coffee shops. Employeees are losing wages. Not good.

I’m tired of boiling water to wash dishes and tired of eating out in other towns because cleaning up is such a pain. I’m tired of brushing my teeth with bottled water and even worse, hate it when I forget and use the tap.

For some reason, it’s safe to shower in it and I wonder what is being left behind on my body.

Ugh.

7 responses to this post.

  1. You vacuumed your car in March? You’re doing WAY better than me. I’ve had my car for almost 3 years and it’s been vacuumed exactly once. By my ex-boyfriend because he was so horrified at the crumbs, dirt, dried out leaves, etc all over the floor. Is it bad that I just confessed that? πŸ™‚

    Sorry you’re still on a boil-water order. It’s kinda like backpacking except minus the gorgeous scenery, huh? 😦

    Reply

  2. don’t work too hard. it will be there tomorrow so why do it today! your on vacation! hope all your plans are coming together. can’t wait to hear more!

    Reply

  3. Can’t believe you guys are still under a boil alert. That’s one long time to have the water line down – yuck!

    Glad you’re having fun with J while the girls are gone – their Dad sucks it. I would probably pull the spiteful thing too.

    Enjoy the last few days of your vacation. Thanks for checking on me – I’ve just been so busy it’s crazy.

    Reply

  4. At least you guys had a good time away. I hope your water gets better soon.

    Reply

  5. Can you get a Brita and keep it in the fridge? I don’t know if that kills germs/bugs or not, but I find it very pleasing to keep one a chilly, not that we have one now. What in the world happened at the water reservoir that it’s STILL not fixed? Scary!

    Vacay sounds lovely, especially the wine and lobstah and naked parts. Sigh.

    Reply

  6. Sorry to hear about the ex not answering the phone. Mrs. Joe & I get to call the kids every night at bedtime to say goodnight.

    Reply

  7. Naked is necessary when no kids are around πŸ™‚ Good for you.

    50$ and I’ll kneecap your ex for you. No one will ever know πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

