mingling our stuff

robe01

I was fortunate that when J moved in, he didn’t bring a bunch of bachelor pad furniture and junk that the stereotypical bachelor man might be carting around. Fortunately for me, it was alot of manly tools that can hang out in the basement and some really cool music and computer equipment, keyboards and guitars and drum machines.

He also brought a hell of alot of clothes. Much more than I own.

But I reaped the benefits of his big comfy man bathrobes, similar to the coveted ones in nice hotels. He’s got a few of them and they have been hanging on our door for the last six months, enough for us each to have one and similar enough that it doesn’t matter which one we grab to put on.

I was thinking about what we each bring to the table here in our house. We each bring patience at different times when the girls are behaving crazy. If I am not being patient, it is likely he is, and vice versa. It enables us to each have a break when we need it.

Last week I was moving slow, we’ve been working daily to finish up negotiating for our piano bar. We’re still unsure of this one will happen in the end, but we’re taking it one step at a time. We’re in FINAL negotiations tomorrow with the sellers and then are finishing up the rest of our financing.

Talk about a literal pain in my neck.

Apparently, I carry the stress right there and I’m moving around very slowly.

At any rate, on Thursday, at 7am, the girls were up for school, and J woke me up briefly and told me to stay in bed and he would take care of things.

When I re-awoke at nine, they had been fed, their lunches had been packed and they’d been delivered to school.

I realized how this is a first in my life, to have a partner willing to and available to take over when I need it. And it’s the first time I have trusted it.

So I sit here in one of the robes that he brought when he moved in and he’s sitting across the room in the big easy chair drinking the cappuccino I make for him every morning. The kids are watching Sunday morning television and eating cream of wheat, (something he taught them to love).

And I can’t believe he’s been home for six months and we are where we are.

8 responses to this post.

  1. It is great that he didn’t bring the typical junk with him, but he is older and more mature than I was when I moved in with my wife!

    Reply

  2. Posted by twinzplusone on October 25, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    too cool 🙂 sounds great !

    Reply

  3. He really does sound fantastic. You are both lucky…sleeping in, the bathrobes, cappuccinos, patience, trust….really lucky.

    Reply

  4. lucky girl you are! best of luck with your new business.

    Reply

  5. Posted by jackie on October 26, 2009 at 5:39 am

    Happy for you. Sounds like bliss to me.

    Reply

  6. I love those moments when we realize that the person we’re with is exactly who we are MEANT to be with.

    You’re in heaven! Enjoy it. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I am so happy for you that you have come to this place in your life. I know it had been a bumpy road but you have gotten such a reward at the end of the rainbow. I am just happy for you.

    Reply

  8. It’s great that he is such a good partner to you. i’ve never had that. I’d probably pass-out if I was dating someone who actually made my life easier rather than more difficult.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

