Oh Holy Silent Night

I filled my ipod with Christmas music so we’ve been listening to it on the docking station in the house as well as in the car.

The girls are loving the acoustic “A Very Special Acoustic Christmas”, specifically “Frosty the Snowman” (see previous post).

And they are interestingly confused by “Oh Holy Night” and “Silent Night”…Red explained the “Silent Night, Holy Night…” lyrics are super similar to “Oh Holy Night…” and she sometimes thinks they are one in the same.

So, she asked to print lyrics up for herself and was in her room, mad as hell, trying to sing the songs but confusing herself with the separate tunes.

I spent some time with her, singing it and teaching her the tunes and she made some notes.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I like the way she’s organizing the information to make sense of it. She’s going to make great use of colored highlighters in school :-).

    Reply

  2. Have you heard God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Barenaked Ladies? Awesome stuff!

    Reply

  3. I am sending you a song via my new gmail address
    hope you guys enjoy it. hehehe
    not for kids ears!!!

    Reply

  4. I’m glad she understands her own notes because they make no sense to me (though I like the head down at the end!).

    Reply

  5. That is so cute. I have the same problem with those two songs as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

