The Eve

It’s gray and cold and snow is on the ground on Christmas Eve day.

I drove the girls to their dad’s this morning and they return on Christmas at one.

So, the stockings are now stuffed, the hummus and checca are made, the pie is baking. All that’s left is the triple chocolate bread pudding (yeah) and  putting the chicken in the oven tomorrow, making a salad and putting out the plates.

We’ll be eating on our laps.

I love that.

J and I are sitting here on our computers working out details of our new purchase and sale for the piano bar property we thought we lost on Monday.

It appears the SBA can do something for us that they couldn’t do if we were using another bank (a bank that declined our loan).

Although anything can happen, as we know from this first experience, it appears this may work out better for all of us, the sellers, the bank, and us, as buyers.

So, today, I am thankful for our willingness to let things go as well as our perceptiveness to keep an open mind for whatever may come, even if it is something returning to us in a different light.

At any rate, I’m excited about Christmas, as much as I am excited for a new year.

I’m excited that the rest of the day and evening is going to be filled with movies and food and quiet, before the Christmas storm hits tomorrow (via two little girls) and that sleeping naked with my piano man on Christmas eve will be a treat this year.

I was remembering how last Christmas eve, I was alone, sleeping under double comforters, with sweatpants and turtleneck and wool socks, pining away for him.

I keep thinking about how blessed I am this year, how blessed we all are.

I wish many blessings to everyone I know out there, everyone I have met and corresponded with via the internet.

Merry Christmas!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Merry Christmas to you guys!

    Reply

  2. Merry Christmas 🙂

    Reply

  3. Merry Christmas to you, too. I’m so happy to be able to call you a friend. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Peter Varvel on December 27, 2009 at 6:43 am

    I had trouble concentrating on the rest of the post after I saw the words “triple chocolate bread pudding.”
    Blessed we all are, indeed!

    Reply

  5. Merry, Merry Christmas to you, J, and the girls! We had rain…not cold enough for snow. Wish I could have slept naked with my husband…children under foot.
    I hope the rest of the loan and plan gets moving and closing in the right direction for the Piano Bar.
    Cheers to you in the New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

